Presales for Mistress of Legend and Guinevere’s Tale Boxed Set

Mistress of Legend
We are less than two months out from the publication of Mistress of Legend, the final book in the Guinevere’s Tale trilogy! That means you can pre-order the ebook now.

amazon-logo-icon  nook-icon-150x150   KoboIconWeb  

Guinevere’s Tale
Also available for pre-order is The Guinevere’s Tale Trilogy, which is all three books (Daughter of Destiny, Camelot’s Queen and Mistress of Legend) in one volume. This version holds a special place in my heart because it is how I always pictured the story being published. Fair warning: it’s looking like it will be close to 1,000 pages!

amazon-logo-icon nook-icon-150x150 KoboIconWeb    

Print books and ebooks on Google Play will be available for both books on September 15 when the books are published.

More Good News and a Little Bad News on the Book Front

What a roller-coaster of a week! In addition to winning my third Book of the Year designation, I’ve had some ups and downs:

Those of you who follow me on social media, specifically Facebook, may be aware that the Historical Writer’s of America Conference that I was due to attend and teach at was canceled less than a week before the event. This made me every unhappy.

Putting everything else aside, it meant that I was not able to conduct my research for the Rose Ferron biography. However, I have not given up. I have flight credits that will pay for me to visit Rhode Island another time. The foundation is working on opening a “domestic chapel” and display of Rose’s possessions, so I hope to be able to attend the opening and blessing of that, which is estimated for late this year or early next.

BUT, I also have two more pieces of good news:

  1. The Once and Future Queen received a 4.5-star Crowned-Heart review in the June issue of InD’Tale magazine! They called it “a powerful analysis of Guinevere…[that] does not read like a regular history book.” This honor also means it is automatically nominated for the RONE Awards next year.
  2. Mistress of Legend is done! It still needs to be edited, proofread and laid out in book format, but it is finished at 97,000 words. (That is significantly shorter than Camelot’s Queen, but slightly longer than Daughter of Destiny.) There is nothing sweeter to a writer (other than perhaps holding a finished copy of a book in your hands for the first time) than typing those two precious little words: THE END. I was really surprised and pleased by some of the twists and turns it took, and I think you will be too. September 15 can’t get here soon enough!

Mistress of Legend Cover Reveal and Publication Date

I sent this out to my newsletter subscribers and Street Team members last week, but totally forgot to post it here!

Mistress of Legend, the final book in the Guinevere’s Tale trilogy, will be published September 15 – exactly 19 years to the day when Guinevere first spoke in my head and I started writing the prologue of Daughter of Destiny. (Which is still in tact, minus one paragraph BTW.) Here’s the back cover copy:

Legend says Guinevere spent her final days in penance in a convent, but that is far from the truth.

Having escaped death at the stake, Guinevere longs to live a peaceful life in Brittany with Lancelot, but the threat of Arthur’s wrath quickly separates the lovers. Guinevere finds herself back in Camelot, but it is not the peaceful capital she once knew; the loyalty of the people is divided over Arthur’s role in her death sentence. When war draws Arthur away from Britain, Mordred is named acting king. With Morgan at his side and a Saxon in his bed, Mordred’s thirst for power becomes his undoing and the cause of Guinevere’s greatest heartache.

In the wake of the deadly battle that leaves the country in civil war, Guinevere’s power as the former queen is sought by everyone who seeks to ascend the throne. Heartbroken and refusing to take sides in the conflict, she flees north to her mother’s Votadini homeland, where she is at long last reunited with Lancelot. The quiet life she desires is just beginning when warring tribal factions once again thrust her into an unexpected position of power. Now charged with ending an invasion that could bring an end to the Votadini tribe and put the whole island in the hands of the Saxons, Guinevere must draw upon decades of experience to try to save the people she loves and is sworn to protect.

Pre-order print and ebook

  

Amazon, Barnes & Noble and Kobo pre-orders will be available in July.

Audiobook
Right now I don’t know if audio will be available at the same time or slightly after print and ebook. I need to work that out with my narrator.

Guinevere’s Tale Box Set
I will also be releasing all three books in the Guinevere’s Tale trilogy in a box set on September 15, both as an ebook and a huge print book. Cover, ordering info and details to come.

Guinevere’s Tale Book 3

Winner:

  • Fiction Book of the Year – Authors Circle
  • Silver Award – Foreword Indie Book Awards (fantasy)
  • Silver Medal – Readers Favorite (mythology)

Game of Thrones meets The Mists of Avalon. Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Signe Pike.

Legend says Guinevere spent her final days in penance in a convent, but that is far from the truth.

Having escaped death at the stake, Guinevere longs to live a peaceful life in Brittany with Lancelot, but the threat of Arthur’s wrath quickly separates the lovers. Guinevere finds herself back in Camelot, but it is not the peaceful capital she once knew; the loyalty of the people is divided over Arthur’s role in her death sentence. When war draws Arthur away from Britain, Mordred is named acting king. With Morgan at his side and a Saxon in his bed, Mordred’s thirst for power becomes his undoing and the cause of Guinevere’s greatest heartache.

In the wake of the deadly battle that leaves the country in civil war, Guinevere’s power as the former queen is sought by everyone who seeks to ascend the throne. Heartbroken and refusing to take sides in the conflict, she flees north to her mother’s Votadini homeland, where she is at long last reunited with Lancelot. The quiet life she desires is just beginning when warring tribal factions once again thrust her into an unexpected position of power. Now charged with ending an invasion that could bring an end to the Votadini tribe and put the whole island in the hands of

the Saxons, Guinevere must draw upon decades of experience to try to save the people she loves and is sworn to protect.

Ebook and Print

amazon-logo-iconnook-icon-150x150   KoboIconWeb  

As an Amazon affiliate, I make a commission for purchases made through the Amazon link above.

Other Awards

  • First place – Chaucer Award Historical Fiction (Dark Ages, Medieval, Renaissance category
  • Finalist -Next Generation Indie Book Awards (Historical Non-fiction category)

Praise

“Full of riveting action and surrealistic scenes of ancient lore…Deftly crafted and highly recommended historical fiction!” Historical Novel Society

“With its eloquent style and lush imagery, the work retains the rich, earthy tones of an Old English epic. Evelina’s work boasts a careful interplay between riveting legends and modern sensibilities and will appeal to a broad range of readers.” – The BookLife Prize

“A sumptuous, delectable treat, a tale written in gorgeous prose and featuring characters that are richly developed, with multiple levels of conflict and an enticing romance. Nicole Evelina’s writing is daring, a work of great imagination.” – Reader’s Favorite (5-Star review)

“[A] well-written, if not traditional, retelling of legend…entertaining and full of surprises.” – InD’tale Magazine

“A complex story, excellently plotted. A strong ending to the trilogy.” – The Wishing Shelf Book Awards

“If you only read one new Arthurian novel this year, make it Mistress of Legend by Nicole Evelina…She has given back to Guinevere, an often overlooked and derided figure, her dignity and endowed her with a true personality. While I enjoyed the first two books in the trilogy, I actually loved this one. In fact, I couldn’t put it down; I read it all in one day and was disappointed when I realized I was on the last page and there wasn’t still more.” – Tyler Tichelaar, author of King Arthur’s Children and the Children of Arthur series.

This book is also listed on:

Languages: Published in English worldwide. All other rights available.
Formats: paperback, ebook, audio
Publisher: Lawson Gartner Publishing
ISBN:

  • 978-0-9967632-5-7 (print)
  • 978-0-9967632-6-4 (ebook)
  • 978-0-9967632-7-1 (audio)